Page tree

Versions Compared

Key

  • This line was added.
  • This line was removed.
  • Formatting was changed.

You can manage your Quatrix® cloud files and folders on the File Explorer tab. 

Managing Files and Folders

All files and folders contain icons before their names and are organised in the following way:

  • System folders are always displayed in the same order and cannot be deleted:
    • Incoming Shares - contains all your received files.
    • Outgoing Shares - accessible to the admin only and contains all files and folders of your users.
    • Projects Shared With Me - contains folders that your Quatrix users shared you.
    • TRASH - contains all deleted files.
  • Project folders - folders that you shared with your Quatrix users.
  • Folders
  • Files
  • Encrypted files

If you would like to rename, delete, copy, move, or preview file(s), tick the check boxes for one or more files and choose the desired action from the top menu or right-click menu. 

Tip
titleInfo for Admin

Besides own files and folders the administrator can see User homes folder of their users which is empty by default. The administrator cannot delete files and folders from the User Homes folder. This is possible only when the admin deletes the user. 

If you need to refresh the file listing, click the Refresh icon.

Uploading Files

You can upload files to your Quatrix storage from your computer by either clicking the Upload icon on the top menu and selecting local files, or you can just drag files and folders from your desktop to the File explorer. The files / folders are uploaded to the chosen folder. 

Contents

Info
iconfalse

Table of Contents

Sharing Files

To share files you should tick the check boxes for the files you wish to share and click the Share icon. This loads the Share form with the file listing populated with files you want to share. See more File Sharing. 

Requesting Files 

Quatrix is a great tool for acquiring files from your contacts or users with the assurance of security, detailed tracking and PGP encryption (if enabled for your account).

You can send a request for sharing files using the Share or Contacts tab.

To request files on the Share tab:

  1. Select Recipient(s) can return files check box in the Optional Settings section on the Share form. 

     

  2. Add, upload and share files. For more info see File Sharing.
  3. Your contact or user receives the email with the Return button to send files back to you.

To request files on the Contacts tab: 

  1. Select the contact or user you want to get files from and click the Request icon .  
  2. Type in the message and send the request. 

You can view the link that will be sent to the contact by clicking the down arrow on the Send button and selecting the Show link option. The Open in mail client option allows you to edit the default text of the request using your mail client. 

Expand
titleScreenshot

Image RemovedImage Added

 

Please note that users who receive requests should register or use an existing Quatrix account to return files. 

The links uniquely point to a form to securely send files to you. Your contacts/users cannot edit the recipient address so the facility cannot be misused for general file sharing.

If PGP is enabled for your account you can ensure that files shared to you are encrypted using your public key. The files are automatically encrypted as they are queued for upload and this requires no additional skills or actions from your contacts. See more PGP.

As soon as your contact uploads files you will receive an email notification.

Searching Files 

You can search for files using the search box in the upper right. Files can be found based on the following properties:

  • file name
  • creation and modification date
  • recipient and sender.