Maytech Public Documentation
Space shortcuts
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

« Previous Version 16 Next »

A user is a person who can use Quatrix® for sharing files and folders. You can add, edit or delete your users on the Manage Users sub-tab of the Administration tab.

Learn more about user rights on Roles and Permissions

Adding a new user

  1. Click on the Add user icon above the user list on the Manage users sub-tab. 
  2. Enter user email and name, specify user quota, select an appropriate group and adjust sharing permissions in the Add user dialog box. 

    If you want to share PGP encrypted files with this user,  you should request PGP keys by selecting Send the link to set PGP keys check box. For more info see PGP in Quatrix.

  3. Choose a default language.

  4. Click the Save button.

 

A new user appears in the list of users and receives a Welcome to Quatrix email with the special one-time link for setting the password. When the password is set, the user can follow the second link from the email to log in to their Quatrix account. 

 

Contents

 

 

Editing a user 

If you want to edit a user:

  1. Select the check box next to the user you would like to edit and click on the Edit icon from the top menu.
  2. Change user details in the Edit user dialog box. 

     

     

    If you want to share PGP encrypted files with this user, you should request PGP keys by selecting the Send the link to set PGP keys check box. For more info see PGP in Quatrix.

  3. Click the Save button. 

You get the notification that the user's profile has successfully been edited.

Deleting a user

To delete a user select the check box next to the user you would like to remove, click on the Delete icon from the top menu and confirm the deletion. The deleted user won't be able to access their Quatrix account. 

If you tick the Delete Home Folder check box while confirming the deletion, all files of the selected user will be deleted. If not, their home folder will stay in the file system and you will be able to access it.

 

Activating or deactivating a user

You can set login permissions for your users while adding or editing them. If you select the Active check box, the user can log in and use their Quatrix account. If this check box is not selected, the user won't be able to log in.

 

Manage sharing permissions of your users

You can manage sharing permissions of your users. A newly added user gets a sharing permission by default. However you can disable file sharing for a desired user while adding or editing them.

Users with the disabled file sharing option have access only to the Home and File Explorer tabs. 


Organising users and contacts in groups

All your users and contacts are arranged in groups that makes it easier to control the access to your account. 

Quatrix users are classified as Internal and External with appropriate sharing and access permissions. You can assign the desired group to your users while adding or editing them. All existing users are automatically converted to Internal users.    

  • Internal users can view and share files with other internal users, external users and site contacts. Besides they can create a list of their own Personal Contacts that are invisible to you as the administrator. 
  • External users can view only internal users and share files with them. They cannot share to the outside world. This facilitates the flow of data from external partners into your organisation whilst preventing external partners from making unauthorised use of your Quatrix site. 

Your contacts are now organised in two groups: Personal and Site contacts. The existing list of contacts is converted to Personal Contacts. 

  • Personal contacts are only visible to you as the account administrator. Besides your Internal users can manage their own personal contacts. 
  • Site contacts are created and managed by the administrator and contain a global contact list which is available to all your Internal users.
  • No labels