FTP-Stream Overview

FTP-Stream is a user friendly advanced global data transfer service. It allows users to upload, download, manage and share files using the site. Depending on the account subscriptions and permissions assigned to you by the site administrator, some of the functionality described in the
document might not be applicable to you.

Download FTP-Stream User Guide pdf

Links to your site and login

There are two ways to access your site:

  • Go to your site’s URL and enter your login and password credentials provided by your administrator
  • You may have been given a quick passwordless login link which logs you in directly without further challenge. In this case, the link is unique to you and no one else can access your login.
    It saves you having to enter login credentials each time you sign on.

The screenshot below shows how your site might look. If you don’t see one or more of the tabs grouped on the left it means the underlying functionality is not available to you and you can skip the related sections in this document. 

List or Tree View

Click on the list/tree view icon in the toolbar to toggle between list and tree view of the folder structure. The default is list view, the screenshot on page 2 shows tree view. Click on any folder to list its contents. 

Downloading

Click on any file to download it. To download a folder and all its contents right click on the folder listing and select download or use the overhead navigation icon. The folder and contents will be zipped on the server and a zip file offered for download. You can change or accept the name of
the zip file offered for download. On completion of the download the zip will either be saved or expanded, depending on your local settings.

Uploading

Navigate to the folder you would like to upload to. Click on the upload tab, then the Select Files button, this fires up Windows Explorer on a PC or Finder on a Mac. Select the files you want to upload, use shift-click or ctrl-click to select multiple
files. Select OK, to return to the upload page. 

To add more files to the queue click Select Files again. If the Optional Message button is present you can add notes which will be sent to the site administrator. Click on the Start Upload button to initiate the upload, you will be able to view progress per file and overall upload. 

Managing Files and Folders

Subject to the permissions assigned to you by your site administrator there are a number of operations you can perform on files and folders. Tick the check box against any file to activate the relevant toolbar icons. 

The functions available (from left to right) are:


Download.


Toggle list / tree view.

 Create a new folder.

 Rename a file or folder.
 Create a zip file.
 Explode a zip file (this will expand the original folder structure which was compressed into the zip file).
  Cut a file or folder - click the scissor icon, then navigate to another folder and click Paste to move the selected file or folder.
 Copy a file or folder - click the copy icon, then navigate to another folder and click Paste to copy the selected file or folder.
 Delete a file or folder.
Get a Direct Download Link to a file. Every file on your site has a unique URL, you can obtain this URL and send in an email or use as a link on a web page. This will allow the recipient to download this file only.
Get a Quick Access folder download link. Every folder has a unique download only link, you can obtain this link and paste into an email.
Add a media file to your video streaming library.

The Video Tab

If your account is subscribed to video streaming, you can manage media players and playlists here. 

Snapshots

A backup (snapshot) is taken of your site hourly. 

To restore files that have been deleted or overwritten click on the most recent snapshot likely to contain the files, navigate to the desired files, tick their check boxes and press the Restore button.
You can restore the files to their original location or a new location.

Sub-Admin Panel

If you have sub-administrator rights, you can add and manage users within your file area. 

Notifications

Your site administrator may have applied notification rules so that an email is generated whenever an upload or download takes place in a certain folder. Note that the email is triggered either on logout or after 15 minutes inactivity.